Budget Friendly Skin Care Finds: Face Mask Edition

If you know me well, you’ll know I’m obsessed with all things beauty and skin care related. Being one to stick to daily regiments, having a daily beauty routine does me a world of good. Though I enjoy the wondrous glow of Sephora and department store counters, I’ve found many affordable items in my local drugstores as well. I’ll be sharing more of my favorite products in posts to come, but for now I’ll start off with my must have face masks.

1) Aztec Secret Bentonite Clay and Apple Cider Vinegar

This is hands down my favorite mask of all time. It’s multipurpose, cost-effective, and lasts a life time. I typically make this mask once or twice a week and use it after I steam my face for a minimum of five minutes. The bentonite clay extracts the oil and dirt to the surface of your skin, while the vinegar serves to refresh, and tone. This is great for those with oily and acne prone skin ( I add some tea tree oil when I have a breakout), or for those who are looking for a deep cleanse. This isn’t the most pleasant mask to have on, as it dries and becomes taut, but it’s well worth the results. I pick mine up at Wholefoods. This product can also be found at health food stores and online retailers. Here’s a great post on how to use this mask: Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay by La Belle Naturelle

2) Queen Helene Mint Julep Mask

I began using this during my freshmen year of college. My diet was terrible and my face suffered the consequences with constant eruptions of acne. When a friend recommended I try the mask and use it as a spot treatment overnight, I never looked back. The Mint Julep mask contains kaolin clay and mint, perfect for both diminishing bumps and soothing the skin. Once you rinse the mask off, your face you won’t be left dry and irritated, but cool and hydrated. Queen Helene is always in my beauty stash.

3) Freeman Charcoal and Black Sugar Facial Polishing Mask

Many brands, both high-end and low-end, boast having the best charcoal mask or scrub. What makes this one unique is it functions as both mask and scrub. When rubbing the mask into your skin, you’ll experience a mild warming sensation which I find relaxing. After leaving it on for about ten minutes, I rinse. Afterwards I’m left with a smoother, brighter complexion. I would recommend this one to all skin types. The polishing mask works especially well in the Summer.

4) Freeman Feeling Beautiful Pineapple Facial Enzyme Mask

If you want luminosity and light exfoliation, this mask is for you. With enough AHA’s to provide a healthy glow to the skin without aggressive exfoliation, this mask is the perfect mid-week remedy for thirsty winter skin.

Beauty doesn’t always have to break the bank. All of the items listed above can be purchased for less than ten dollars! Stock up when they’re on sale. If you’ve tried any of these masks, let me know what you think.

 

One thought on “Budget Friendly Skin Care Finds: Face Mask Edition

Leave a Reply

