Gifts for the Writer and Reader on Your List

jinglealltheway

So you have a reader or writer friend, relative, significant other, possibly coworker, maybe neighbor, or that guy you see sometimes and thought it would be nice to spread some holiday cheer towards. Well, lucky for you, dear blog reader, I have some excellent suggestions that will show your <insert relationship> feel like you think about him or her enough to get <insert name> a proper present. Or at least show that you know where cool kids shop.

P.S. I don’t know where cool kids shop. I just keep saying that I do to convince myself.

P.P.S. A good way to achieve your goal is to lie to yourself until it is real.

P.P.P.S. Results may very with that advice.

P.P.P.P.S. Yes that is a gif from Jingle All the Way

1. A book

rory-reads

Nothing says “Hey I noticed you like books!” like an actual book. I heard people don’t like to do this as personal taste and whatnot, but I frankly think it’s a very personal present to give to someone. There’s old school romantics about giving someone a book (i.e.: back before electronics and Frozen Barbie dolls were the IT item to gift). I love getting books because it’s a little piece of that person and what they want to share with me or the book choice reminded that individual of me. That’s super flattering!

Bonus points if you write an inscription in front as to why that book. It really can be any reason! Did the book have a funny title? Is there a scene that reminds you of that time when… It’s the ultimate present.

2. A Journal

doug

I love blank journals as much as the next person. Heck, when I have time to kill and I’m near a stationary store, I’ll more than likely hang out in there and look at all the pretty bindings, but sometimes the pretty hardcover ones are too out of my personal budget. That’s why I love gifting them, I think. I don’t feel bad spending that much on someone else’s journal, and I always get a bit chuffed when I see the person use it.

3. A Mug

mugLike this one from the Unemployed Philosopher’s Guild! They have more dedicated to specific authors and books too, if you’re feeling up to it. I personally would love a Jane Austen one. I love this banned books one too. But a little known fact, your reader or writer friend probably likes drinking coffee or tea. Most people do, and this mug could be the vessel for such beverages. So cheers!

This is a very general list, but if you need more ideas, again Unemployed Philosopher’s Guild is a good place to start. There are also fun things like totes, tees, and knickknacks at Out of Print Clothing and Litographs. You also can’t beat a good Etsy search for neat, handmade crafts. I found some cool Harry Potter stuff there, from hats and scarves to jewelry.

So go out and shop, so you don’t feel bad when you buy yourself stuff later.

 

 

Leave a Reply

