Poor Writers Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Kaling

 

Poor Writers Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

The answer is yes. At least for me. Everyone is probably hanging out, eating Italian ice (Everyone ordered mango, because that’s my favorite) while I’m sitting here using all my concentration to not die of heat exhaustion. It takes a lot of concentration.

The answer, for Mindy Kaling, author of IEHOWM (I’m cool. I do acronyms.), and writer/producer of her show The Mindy Project, is hilarious. This book is great, really. Go read it.

As she describes it, “I wrote this book in a way that reflects how I think. Sometimes it’s an essay or story, and sometimes it’s a pliest, which is a piece with a list-y quality, a term I’ve just made up.”

Ah, pliests. The blessing or curse of our generation of writers. I just can’t decide which.

I’m normally not a fan of celebrity books where comedians basically write down words they should be saying. It’s usually a mix of subtle brags and “little-o’l-me”s that make me want to give up on all my hopes and dreams and bash my head in with my kindle. (So I didn’t like Bossypants or Seriously…I’m Kidding. Get over it.)

But Mindy kept that kind of stuff to a minimum. She gushed a lot about her friends, which I think is nice. And about her coworkers, which is also nice. And she talked about working at The Office, which made me shake with jealousy, but which was also…nice. (I know, writing teachers. Nice is a terrible word. I’ll use some others.)

I particularly liked the part about The Office, because

1. Best show on earth, and

2. Mindy’s just super relatable. She has a really easy way of writing and talking and storytelling that’s easy to follow, likeable, hilarious.

I can’t believe I’m actually writing this in a review—but here goes—I laughed out loud. LOL, there, I said it.

I definitely recommend. If you’re the kind of person who only reads Shakespeare, go away I don’t like you. If not, try Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me this summer. It’s a good one.

I give you four Poor Writers Pennies. Expensive!

2 thoughts on “Poor Writers Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

  1. I did like ‘Bossy Pants,’ though I admit that I did put it down for like a month because I didn’t at first. I picked it up again during a train ride home when I finished a book and realized I had it on my Kindle.

    I think I liked Mindy’s book a lot because it read almost like a blog?

    I too shook with jealousy when she spoke about her time at “The Office” though. Is that why she didn’t get all pennies? I’ll hold it out of spite fo sho. haha

Leave a Reply

