To Summer Reading

books

Every semester after finals are over, I go to the library. I know it should be the other way around. But one of the things I’m most excited for about summer is the ability to read whatever I want. To read without anyone telling me who or what is important. Without underlining or deconstructing. I can take recommendations or go off the title, or, if I’m feeling particularly rebellious, I’ll just grab something with a beautiful cover.

Yeah that’s me.

I love the freedom of summer, the freedom to judge books by their covers.

Reading for school is important, particularly if you’re an English major. A well-structured story, a nicely paced poem. A metaphor-heavy novel. Professors all believe they know the perfect books that every writer needs to r

ead, starting, usually, with all the books they’ve read.

That’s important. Reading books your teachers have read. Books that will make you better. But every semester after finals are over is when I really remember why I want to be a better writer in the first place.

I read books that make me happy. I read terrible first chapters and don’t bother finishing them. I read funny books. I read my favorite books over again, almost reciting them in my head. I read whatever I want.

This post isn’t really an advice post, because I don’t really have any advice. It’s more of a de-stress-from-finals post, a summer-is-here-hooray post. A nerdy-I-love-reading-post.

 

summer-reading

It would be really great if I was going to be doing all this summer reading on a beach. I’m not.

I so badly want to end with making this into some form of advice.

The best writing advice I ever got from a professor was that I needed to calm down with my endings. No one needs to learn a lesson. The other shoe doesn’t have to drop. There does not need to be a mystery solved or a big reconciliation. “Just let it end,” she said, huge red lines covering my last page, “It’s over here. Just let it end.”

Summer is here. I love reading. I’m going to the library to get a million beautiful books. The end.

3 thoughts on “To Summer Reading

  1. That was good advice. What are some of the books you’re going to read this summer? I’ve already got four waiting to be opened and a hundred others I’d like to get to as well.

  2. Thanks! I’m currently starting on Junot Diaz’s “This is How You Lose Her,” which I’ve been meaning to get to for a while. And I just finished my first Anne Patchett I’ve read, and I’m definitely going to read more of her this summer.

  3. I have the exact same habit! I always end up at the library with a huge stack of books to bring home with me! & I totally agree with what you said about reading books your teachers have read! I plan to do that this summer, and I can’t wait 🙂

    Are you by any chance planning on writing book reviews this summer?

Leave a Reply

