Spring Playlist

trent

Season to season the music I listen to changes. With days becoming longer and hotter. This time of year  I prefer listening to lengthy and lyrically hopeful music. Depending on the artist, a long song carries me through a series of auditory experiences I very well need to take my mind off the too warm outfits I always wear at the wrong time. Here’s some artists I’ve been listening to lately.

Matchbox Twenty “I started out clean, but I’m jaded.”

One of my great loves. Matchbox is one of those bands who manage a healthy amount of hopefulness and chipper melodies without sounding pathetic. They have smart, well crafted songs which make their albums pleasant to listen to. When they do love songs, it’s not your typical come save me with your love kind of deal, but more of I’m messed up, so be messed up with me. So romantic.

Beck “My time is a piece of wax falling on a termite who’s choking on the splinters”

Such a bizarre way with words Beck has. The bored exasperation of his voice set against an easy tempo gives Loser just the right tone for a humid night paired with some Devil Dogs and Yoohoos.

Tracy Chapman “I don’t want to leave you lonely. You gotta make me change my mind.”

Straightforward. No hinting around at this and that. I appreciate a song sans the woman in distress.

Suagr Ray “Someday when my life has passed me by, I’ll lay around and wonder why you were always there for me.”

Who else gives you this kind of nonchalant honesty? They have a dreamlike quality to their music likely stemming from their reggae influence. I dig them.

Happy Listening

Leave a Reply

