Poor Writers Review: Ghana Must Go

15811505

In her new novel, Ghana Must Go, Taiye Selasi beautifully tells the story of an immigrant family, weaving together brothers, sisters, and parents into one story. At times I felt like I was reading a poem, it was so lyrical, and at other points remarks were sharp and to the point. I would give it four stars, but since I’m a poor writer and can’t afford them, I give it four pennies. A success!

pennireviews

Ghana Must Go is Selasi’s first novel, and I’m definitely going to read her next one when/if it comes (I hope it does!).

images

Generally when I read a book I look for one character to hold on to, and I get confused and disoriented when forced to switch into another person’s point of view. Selasi’s characters are all so real that I don’t mind the large story begin told through all of them. I can see myself in every character, and I can also see other people in their differences. By the end of the novel, I felt like I knew them.

It’s not perfect. There are times when the prose is too prosy, or the novel becomes so focused on plot that characters’ seem a bit lost. But these problems are small compared to a story that seems to stay true to itself, its characters, and its places (which are, of course, described beautifully).

Read it, y’all. That’s my advice.

Leave a comment