Keep It Simple, 2014.

If you’re ready to put on your dunce hat and call it a day, don’t. 2013 is almost over!

 

My New Year's won't be quite like this, but yours can be.

My New Year’s won’t be quite like this, but yours can be.

 

Though 2013 has had some good moments, its torrid weather patterns, political battles, and bitter coffee has burnt me out. The New Year I envision is one of simplicity and a good few accomplishments. Seeing as I want the next year to be slightly better than the last, I’ve thought up a few ways to help navigate the unknown.

Being out of school for a little while now, I forget writing can be an enjoyable experience sometimes. So I plan on writing something bad like Devin suggested in her 10 Resolutions post. Instead of getting bogged down by an intricate plot twists, or AMC worthy dialogue, I can focus on dreaming up the novella of my dreams. I’m thinking Edward Norton as the mysterious neighbor next door who always has the aroma of cinnamon buns coming out of his apartment.

In 2014 I want leap into the world of non-fiction. This year most of my reading time was spent on poems and novels. I want to switch it up and get out of my depressing fiction rut. I have a list of titles I’ve gotten recommendations on. If you have any suggestions on essays, memoirs, autobiographies, etc, feel free to leave a comment. Also, I’d like to get back into V.C. Andrews novels. Don’t ask me why.

Not the most uplifting read

Not the most uplifting read

All in all, I’m eady to say farewell to good ole 2013. I want to write and submit Essays, stories, and poems, read and write as if my life depended on it, as is my usual. I also want to get involved with my poetry and fiction communities in my area.  There’s no need to feel like an isolated writer when feeling like a poor one does just fine.

Have a happy and safe New Year everyone!

Imani

One thought on “Keep It Simple, 2014.

Leave a Reply

